Randalls Island Park Alliance

Meet Our Horticulture Crew: Ulises Hernandez

In What's in Bloom on April 2, 2012 at 9:58 pm

By Ulises Hernandez

Hola!  My name is Ulises and I began working in horticulture by accident.  Everything started when I moved from Puerto Rico to Orlando twelve years ago.  I never pictured myself working with plants and flowers.

I had the opportunity to work as a groundskeeper at Walt Disney World.  Within a few months, I was making Mickey Mouse faces with plants and flowers. This was a task that I started to enjoy, while the list of characters started to increase.  Let me not forget to mention the variety of plants and flowers.  For me, it was a wonderful experience to see the final product and people admiring it.

After working at Disney for two years and gaining  solid experience, I ended up working at Universal Studios.  In my new job, I expanded my knowledge and skills.  I guess, I don’t have to mention my list of characters multiplied!   It was very exciting, because I started to learn how to work with topiaries.

I don’t know if it was my enthusiasm, abilities, destiny or everything combined; that after a short  time I was asked to join the Arborist crew.  I found myself facing new tasks: planting, transplanting and removing trees.  Pruning techniques were essential in my new position. I made sure to pay a lot of attention to learning and applying this new knowledge.  During this period, I was trained to use heavy equipment, such as chainsaws, bucket trucks, backhoes and high reach machines.

A few years ago was another turning point in my life.  I had the opportunity to visit New York City.  I fell in love with the metropolis and decided to relocate.  As part of the move, I started to look for a new job.  I was seeking employment in which I could use what I had learned in Florida.

The Horticulture Department at Randall’s Island gave me the opportunity to work with plants and trees.  I have been able to use all my skills in new creative ways.  I guess I don’t have to mention, that I really love horticulture and I get a great deal of pleasure from working outdoors.  Oh, and if I forgot to tell you:  COME VISIT!

Leave a comment