Randalls Island Park Alliance

Meet Our Horticulture Crew Member: Merryl Spence

In What's in Bloom on April 16, 2012 at 6:25 pm

By Merryl Spence
My name is Merryl. I  joined the Randall’s Island Horticulture crew this season as a gardener and I’m extremely excited to be here. I’ve been living in NYC for 13 years and grew up just north of the city. I come from a family of outdoorsmen and gardeners so my love of nature was instilled at a very young age.

Before moving back east, in 1999, I spent many years roaming the forests, deserts and mountains of Arizona, Colorado, Idaho and Wyoming. Prior to my time at Randall’s I was the store manager at DIG Gardens , in downtown Brooklyn, and worked with the Horticultural Society of New York’s Horticultural Therapy Program at Rikers Island.

Both experiences were transformative and deeply inspiring. I’m looking forward to working side by side with so many talented and knowledgeable horticulturists and expanding my experience in the field.

Leave a Reply

